Desire for light

A while ago, I recently had the misfortune to be in a room with a group of practitioners of whom one was recounting the story of a a patient he had treated several months before. He said how the centre of the case was so obvious, that the man was “on a quest to seek knowledge ” about why he was the victim of a robbery and that the lack of knowledge was destroying his health.

Click to enlarge

fear

I asked him how he came to Aconite based on that,  upon which I was told that the key rubric was “Desire for Light” in the Mind section of Kent. I asked him what the mans complaint was when he came to the clinic. With a condescending look I was told “Ive already told you the mans complaint…..” Being the pedantic sort I am, I repeated the question, “Im not sure you understood my question, in terms of what the patient came for, what did he complain of?”  I was then told he had a skin complaint. I ventured to ask if the skin complaint was cured after the prescription to which the reply was, “Im absolutely sure it was, he never returned and that always is a good sign, I had found his central source of disturbance”.

Sadly for this practitioner, I knew of this particular patient. He had aggravated on the Aconite, with his skin symptoms getting much worse, and had gone to the emergency clinic. (He eventually ended up in my clinic and was successfully treated for eczema by a colleague with Sepia and Pulsatilla on the clear symptom of his eruptions aggravated by being covered in sweat along with another of which at this time I cannot recall.

If one reads Aconite, the description of the symptom ‘Desire for light” is:

Click to enlarge

eye

 

 

As you can see, Nowhere does it indicate this is a mental symptom. In the proving, it VERY CLEARLY points to being a physical symptom of the eye requiring more light.

Regrettably, this symptom was placed in KENTS repertory in the Mind section, for what reason, I have no idea.  Regardless, this prescription was based on an interpretive and non scientific psychiatric evaluation of both the patient AND a medicine. A brief look at the Materia Medica would have shown his rubric choice was wrong, not to mention his case taking methodology.

This is the present state of homoeopathic medicine. Time to return to the simple premise of reading the handbook and working from there.

Leave a Reply

