Essential Tremors and treatment

A recent conversation with a patient regarding essential tremors, and treatment of, brought my mind back to several cases I have treated in the past using Osteopathy. I have never been particularly successful in treatments for hand tremors using homoeopathic medicine over the years, and it is something that I never really examined in detail until this last patient.

Essential tremors are often ‘hereditary’ and also seem to be age related. Sometimes aggravated by concentrating on them and sometimes vary in intensity. In talking on the phone with this patient, (different country) I was told that the tremors had increased lately as had a neck and shoulder stiffness due to a more than normal work routine of computer usage and sitting down.

As I compiled the information in my thinking faculties, I found myself thinking laterally. What if the tremors were not inherited, but rather a weakness of the upper thoracic vertabrae or a family weakness of the neck region? I asked the patient if the tremors were present right now, and being given the affirmative, I asked the patient to lean her left hand on her left leg whilst seated and raise it an inch off the leg. She complied with the request and informed me that the tremor was pronounced in her hand and forearm.

I then asked if someone could stand behind her and place their fingers 2 inches below the neck either side of the spine, and then gently apply pressure and move upwards to the neck. As soon as the pressure was applied to T1, the tremor stopped immediately. This was tried several times and on both sides of the neck and arms with the same result.

The patient was requested to make an osteopathic appointment and tell the physician of the tremors and if they would make an adjustment to the T1 or specific vertabrae in the area that had a subluxation evident. It has been my experience in the past that the pressure release on the nerves switch off the tremors.

I have always worked with homoeopathic medicine as my speciality, and osteopathy for the alignment of the mechanical system. It would appear that tremors may well be a mechanical issue where a subluxation can impinge on spinal nerve roots, causing symptoms in the areas served by those roots. This may well explain my lack of success using homoeopathic medicines for the treatment of tremors. Its a physical problem.

Leave a Reply

