Rheumatism and Venereal Infection

RHEUMATISM

I was called to see a man with rheumatism. He had been confined to his bed and arm chair for many months, and had suffered greatly from the disease and many doctors. Had not tried homœopathy, for there was “nothing in it.” I found joints swollen (hands, feet, knees, body). The affection had continued all the time to move from joint to joint since he was attacked.

Heat did not > but <.
Tongue coated white, poor appetite, no thirst.
Very greatly discouraged, depressed.
Temperament, fair ; mild disposition.

There were other symptoms, but these were leading. He received Pulsatilla c. m. (Fincke). He improved promptly, but in a few days sent for me. He showed me a discharge from the urethra that looked gonorrhœal in character. That was in the days of long ago, when we did not know so much about bacteriology. He said that his wife had given it to him, for he had, as everybody knew, not been able to get away from home. The wife indignantly denied the imputation. Both looked to me for a solution of the mystery. I said to him – did you ever have clap before ?

He hesitated under the scrutiny of the flashing eyes of his wife. Then said : Yes, I did when I was a young man, before I was married. I said your rheumatism is improving since this discharge appeared. Yes. How were you cured of the clap ? By an injection. Well, then, I said neither you nor your wife are guilty of inconstancy toward each other. This rheumatism from which you are now suffering is the result of that suppressed gonorrhœa of twenty years ago, and you will get well of both under the action of appropriate medication. But no more local injections, please. He recovered rapidly. I have seen other cases similar from such suppressions and am careful not to resort to them. I did not know of the history of gonorrhœa in the case, but treated it on the symptomatic indications. (Nash.)

Leave a Reply

