Discussion between 2 homoeopaths.

Comments taken from the responses to articles published

Mokhtar Akbari

Hello, I am a Homeopath from Canada and have studied many different methods of Homeopathy, including classical and more contemporary approaches. I would like to understand more, for my own learning, what people mean when they say that they approach case analysis and case management from a purely Hahnemannian perspective. There is a lot on the internet criticizing new approaches, but I do not find much about what constitutes and defines the purely Hahnemannian approach. I am genuinely interested and eager to learn and have even looked for books on the subject but I can’t find any besides the Organon itself. Could you please help me find books or other ressources that would help me understand how Hahnemannian homeopaths analyse and manage cases? (second prescription, remedy reactions, ect). Ideally, I think that all students should learn all methods. This will lead to the best results for us all and help us to really understand what Homeopathy is and the different paths it has taken. Thank you and all the best with your wonderful website.

Response from Ed Nunnery

Welcome to the site. What defines the pure Hahnemannian approach is how closely you follow the instructions in the Organon. Everything you need to know about casetaking, case analysis, prescribing and case management is in the sixth Edition of the Organon. Use the Dudgeon Translation. Read and re-read it and you will find out how very clearly everything is laid out by Hahnemann. The 6th Edition was his last word on how to practice Homoeopathy. The medicines he used almost exclusively at the time were the LM or Q potencies. Instructions as to dose and preparation and case management are given in the Organon.
Boenninghausen’s “Lesser Writings” have helpful essays on the approach and he was Hahnemann’s most valued colleague and the best prescriber who ever lived. His repertory “The Therapeutic Pocketbook” is the most reliable, accurate reflection of the “Materia Medica Pura” and “Chronic Disease”. These are the other books that you will need to study and refer to in choosing the most similar remedy, they contain the best and most reliable provings ever done.
I have studied many approaches myself. Kentian, Vithoulkian, Andre Saine and others. I have tried to use them in practice and always felt that something was not quite right, or that I’m not smart enough to make them work. Then I found this site and saw the elegance and simplicity of the pure Hahnemannian method at work and I realized that this is real homoeopathy. All the other approaches were flawed in the degree to which they deviated from Hahnemann. I highly recommend reading all the cases on the site and the articles on case taking. I only wish I had found this out 30 years ago when I started! I know from experience that the best, most consistent results come from practicing Hahnemann’s Homoeopathy according to the rules set down in the Organon.

Leave a Reply

