Another personal reflection on training with the IHM.

I asked IHM members for their reflections and comments on why they studied the Therapeutic Pocket Book method with the IHM… Here is Guillermo Zamora.

 

I first read some articles from Gary Weaver on a homoeopathic web forum about 6 or 7 years ago. What attracted my attention was the adherence to the practice of homoeopathy through the writings of Samuel Hahnemann, and no affinity to any of the modern methods currently in evidence. In reading the few cases he presented, I saw a clarity of prescribing that did not prioritise mental symptoms over any other symptoms, but rather looked for the altered state of health where it lay.

I am a State trained medical homoeopath here in Mexico. Most of our training is in the works of KENT and later the modern ‘masters’. It has been my practice to read widely and examine everything especially from the early pioneers of our medical therapy.

dsc01521My son had developed a very bad excema. Help had been sought from another practitioner on the web forum but success was not to be found. I wrote Gary and asked if he could help. He asked for all the notes and for me to itemise each symptom carefully. He took the notes and would email for clarification on several points.

I had already decided on a remedy of Rhus Tox for the prescription and discussed it with Gary. He said that as his role in this case was advisory, he could not advise Rhus Tox as a prescription just yet.dsc01524

He explained to me how he had arrived at Sepia for the boy and why it could not be Rhus Tox.

Two main modalities that were exhibited was aggravated from heat and a high angry disposition. Gary told me that this was important in my sons case as both symptoms were strong in the disease.

dsc01528

Gary prescribed Sepia. To be honest, I was not happy with the prescription. It was against everything I knew about remedies. It was not an ‘eczema’ remedy. However, I went along with it.

Im so glad I did. My son is glad he did. We watched the eczema die. We saw it gently leave his skin. A few weeks later, Gary told me to give Rhus Tox as the symptoms had changed and required Rhus to finish.

After the Sepia.

dsc01562

dsc01563

 

Gary showed me through the clinic and the pages of Hahnemanns writings what the practice of the therapy was really about. A short time later, my father developed a life threatening illness and once more Gary showed me the efficacy of homoeopathy above any other system of medicine.

I decided to study the Therapeutic pocket book with Gary. I offered to translate the P&W Englsh version into Spanish and we worked together on that project for several months. Later I joined the IHM team and was asked to head up the Mexico IHM presence and school. It has been an amazing unfolding of understanding that has benefited my clinic and me personally. The IHM has always encouraged me to reach and study and reflect using the principles of the therapy so that I instinctively know what to do even if at the moment I do not know the answer.

Gary has an unswerving adherence to the law of similars. He is fully aware of the different approaches to health care and will utilise what is necessary in emergency situations, but always maintains that permanent cure comes through the application of similars.

As a fully trained medical practitioner of homoeopathy,  I was deeply surprised to find what I did not know, and even more surprised to find what I knew was incorrect on a lot of levels. The IHM has taught me by pointing my gaze in the right direction for answers, and also by conversations where Garys experience and research answered all my questions.

When I first started doing seminars here in Mexico, Gary did not try and control any of the material presented. He just said that I knew enough to be effective and I should go and enjoy the teaching. He has always been supportive of all of our efforts and gives information freely. There is a lot of respect shown to us.

I know that the IHMs main aim is to develop the independent practitioner who knows homoeopathy. I have never seen any ego displayed or the desire to teach a personal methodology.

For those contemplating an intensive in homoeopathic medicine, I will state that one week with the IHM will give you knowledge and understanding and the desire to continue along the path to be a Hahnemannian  homoeopath.

 

2 responses to “Another personal reflection on training with the IHM.

  1. Pingback: Una Opinión Personal de Capacitarse con el IMH « Instituto de Medicina Homœopática América Latina

  2. Pingback: Una Opinión Personal de Capacitarse con el IMH « Instituto de Medicina Homoeopatica

Leave a Reply

